ATCA Award Winners announced for 2012

The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce its 2012 Award Winners. The goal of ATCA's awards program is to give special recognition to those persons and/or organizations engaged in the development, operation, or maintenance of the world-wide air traffic control system for outstanding achievement.
ATCA logoEvery year, we are honored to recognize the outstanding achievements of so many in the air traffic community, said Peter F. Dumont, President and CEO of ATCA. Their contributions strengthen not only the association, but the ATC community as a whole. We are grateful to them for adding to the quality, safety, and efficiency of air traffic control.

The General E.R. Quesada Memorial Award
Glen Martin, Federal Aviation Administration

The George W. Kriske Memorial Award
Dave Ford, Ford Aviation Solutions

The William A. Parenteau Memorial Award
Robert J. Carr, Federal Aviation Administration

The Andy Pitas Memorial Award
Steven Bruce, Robinson Aviation, Inc.
Brian Graham, Federal Aviation Administration
Eric Leygues, NAV CANADA

The Earl F. Ward Memorial Award
Eagle Control Tower, Serco
Kandahar ATC Tower, RAPCON & Airfield Management, Midwest ATC Service, Inc.

The ATCA Industrial Award
Lockheed Martin

The ATCA Small & Disadvantaged Business Award

The Charles E. Varnell Memorial Award for Small Business
B3 Solutions, LLC

The ATCA Air Traffic Control Specialist of the Year Award
John Blakeney, Robinson Aviation, Inc.

Lingiam Odems Memorial Award for Air Traffic Control Specialist of the Military
AC1. Megan Bench, U.S. Navy
SSgt. Jamerson Watts, U.S. Air Force
SSgt. Raul Desantiago, U.S. Marine Corps
WO1. Jaclyn Ciffra, National Guard

ATCA Airway Transportation Systems Specialist of the Year Award
Kevin Bittinger, Federal Aviation Administration
SSgt. Dale Elder, U.S. Marine Corps
ET2. Nathan Williams, U.S. Navy

ATCA Life Cycle Management Award

The David J. Hurley Memorial Award for Aviation Traffic Management
Ellen King, Federal Aviation Administration

The Chairmans Citation of Merit Award
Army PM Air Traffic Control - Fixed Base ATC Team, U.S. Army
Michael Bendixen, Federal Aviation Administration
Fred Gibbs, ARC Group
Franklin Hatfield, Federal Aviation Administration
Suzette Matthews, Washington Progress Group
Sgt. Travis Schlumpberger, U.S. Marine Corps
Steve Vail, Mosaic ATM

The ATCA Presidents Citation
Rick Ducharme, Federal Aviation Administration

Please join us Monday, October 1, 2012 during the ATCA 57th Annual Conference & Expositions Awards Luncheon to recognize the hard work of these recipients. Lunch is included with full conference registration; however, individual tickets are also available. To purchase tickets, contact Brian Courter or 703-299-2430 x311. For more information on the Annual, visit

To purchase banquet tickets or corporate tables, call ATCA: +1 703/299-2430.

Year Recipient

1986 David Thomas, Deputy FAA Administrator, Professional Air Traffic Controller

1988 Najeeb Halaby, FAA Administrator, President, Pan Am Airways

1989 J. Lynn Helms, FAA Administrator, President, Piper Aircraft Co.

1990 Scott Crossfield, Aircraft Test Pilot

1991 John Wilnant, President, National Business Aircraft Association

1993 Joseph Del Balzo, Deputy FAA Administrator, Electrical Engineer

1994 Tirey Vickers, Editor of ATCA Journal, Professional Air Traffic Controller

1995 Captain Elrey B. Jeppesen, Airline Captain, Founder, Jeppesen & Co.

1996 Norman Mineta, Secretary of Transportation, U.S. Congressman

1997 Yves Lambert, Director General of EUROCONTROL

1998 Stanley Seltzer, V.P., American Airlines, Professional Air Traffic Controller

1999 Langhorne Bond, FAA Administrator

2000 Gabriel A. Hartl, Colonel USAF Retired, President of ATCA

2001 William Pollard, CEO, Air Services Australia, Professional Air Traffic Controller

2002 Frank Frisbie, Northrup Grumman, FAA Deputy Associate Administrator

2003 Andrew Pitas, Founder of ATCA, Professional Air Traffic Controller

2004 Wolfgang Philipp, Senior Director, EUROCONTROL

2005 James L. Oberstar, Congressman, U.S. House of Representatives

2006 Garland Cas Castleberry, FAA Associate Administrator, President of ATCA

2007 Jerry Thompson, Chairman, Jerry Thompson and Associates

2008 John Crichton, President, CEO, NAV CANADA

2009 Allan McArtor, Chairman, Airbus Americas, Inc.

2010 Neil Planzer, Vice President, The Boeing Company (Press Release)

2011 Jane Garvey, Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; Chairman, Meridiam (Press Release)

2012 Peter Challan, Vice President of Industry Relations, Harris Corporation
(Press Release)

Marion Brophy


There are no comments yet for this item

Join the discussion

You can only add a comment when you are logged in. Click here to login