EASA announces senior management changes

- Cologne, Germany.

The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) announces three key management changes following the new organisation structure decided by its Executive Director Patrick Ky and announced on 1 September 2014.

Effective 5 January 2015, Luc Tytgat has been appointed by the EASA Management Board as Director of the newly created Strategy and Safety Management Directorate. In this role, Luc Tytgat will be in charge of raising safety intelligence as one of EASA’s key priorities and developing a better and more agile regulatory framework. Prior to EASA, Luc Tytgat was the Director of the Pan-European Single Sky Directorate at Eurocontrol since 2011, after having worked for 20 years in the field of air transport and space at the European Commission and 10 years in the Belgian Air Force.

Effective 5 January 2015, Olivier Ramsayer has been appointed by the EASA Management Board as the new Resources and Support Director. In this role, Olivier Ramsayer will be in charge of simplifying, raising the efficiency and flexibility of EASA support services. Prior to EASA, Olivier Ramsayer was Head of Resources and Support Department at the European Food Safety Authority, after different managerial positions in the EU institutions.

Effective 1 March 2015, Trevor Woods, currently Flight Standards Director at EASA, will replace Norbert Lohl as Certification Director. In this role, Trevor Woods will address the new challenges faced by the Agency in the evolution of technologies and constraints on resources in the certification domain. Norbert Lohl will be retiring at the end of February 2015.

Wilfried Schulze, Deputy Director, will be acting as Flight Standard Director.

Patrick Ky declared: “The new organisation shapes EASA for the next decade. The Management team is focused on one objective: develop, for the benefit of travelling passengers, the safest possible aviation regulatory system, in partnership with the European Commission and the Member States and in support of the growth of the aviation industry”.

Olivier Ramsayer, Luc Tytgat, Trevor Woods and Wilfried Schulze are members of the EASA Executive Committee and report directly to Patrick Ky.



There are no comments yet for this item

Join the discussion

You can only add a comment when you are logged in. Click here to login